Trivia

“Tenable” questions, 30 April 2021 [Series 5 Episode 40]

A new series of ITV quiz show “Tenable” began on Monday 15 February. Here are the questions and answers for Friday 30 April, Series 5 Episode 40 (S5Ep40). Sally Lindsay continues to stand in for the show’s usual presenter Warwick Davis.

For previous series I have included at least a week’s worth of questions and answers in each post, as in this piece from last year. For this series I have been posting one piece for each episode containing the following: the questions, how the team fared and the answers.

Here are links to the 39 previous episodes in the current series:

Monday 15 February 2021 (S5Ep1)
Tuesday 16 February 2021 (S5Ep2)
Wednesday 17 February 2021 (S5Ep3)
Thursday 18 February 2021 (S5Ep4)
Friday 19 February 2021 (S5Ep5)

Monday 22 February 2021 (S5Ep6)
Tuesday 23 February 2021 (S5Ep7)
Wednesday 24 February 2021 (S5Ep8)
Thursday 25 February 2021 (S5Ep9)
Friday 26 February 2021 (S5Ep10)

Monday 1 March 2021 (S5Ep11)
Tuesday 2 March 2021 (S5Ep12)
Wednesday 3 March 2021 (S5Ep13)
Thursday 4 March 2021 (S5Ep14)
Friday 5 March 2021 (S5Ep15)

Monday 8 March 2021 (S5Ep16)
Tuesday 9 March 2021 (S5Ep17)
Wednesday 10 March 2021 (S5Ep18)
Thursday 11 March 2021 (S5Ep19)
Friday 12 March 2021 (S5Ep20)

Monday 22 March 2021 (S5Ep21)
Tuesday 23 March 2021 (S5Ep22)
Wednesday 24 March 2021 (S5Ep23)
Thursday 25 March 2021 (S5Ep24)
Friday 26 March 2021 (S5Ep25)

Monday 12 April 2021 (S5Ep26)
Tuesday 13 April 2021 (S5Ep27)
Wednesday 14 April 2021 (S5Ep28)
Thursday 15 April 2021 (S5Ep29)
Friday 16 April 2021 (S5Ep30)

Monday 19 April 2021 (S5Ep31)
Tuesday 20 April 2021 (S5Ep32)
Wednesday 21 April 2021 (S5Ep33)
Thursday 22 April 2021 (S5Ep34)
Friday 23 April 2021 (S5Ep35)

Monday 26 April 2021 (S5Ep36)
Tuesday 27 April 2021 (S5Ep37)
Wednesday 28 April 2021 (S5Ep38)
Thursday 29 April 2021 (S5Ep39)

The Questions

Friday 30 April 2021

[S5Ep40] Team name: Teamful of Asha

Round 1: 10 countries from their names in native languages [The ‘Tenable’ tower shows the short-form names of 10 countries in their native languages; the answers are the common English names; some of the clues are originally written in a different alphabet and these country names have been transferred into the Roman alphabet.]

The clues: Österreich / Kampuchea / Hrvatska / Česko / Suomi / Hellas / Magyarorszag / Bharat / Nippon / Sverige

Round 2: The 10 words in Secretary of State titles alphabetically after ‘Defence’ [In a list of UK cabinet positions with the title “Secretary of State” the words that come after “Defence”.]

Round 3: The 10 juices in the International Bartenders Association cocktails [According to a list on the International Bartenders Association website as of November 2020; these juices are all named constituents in at least one IBA cocktail and all contain the word “juice”.]

Round 4: The last 10 chemical elements alphabetically that begin with a vowel [As of September 2020.]

Round 5 (The Captain’s Round): 10 musicals from the 2000s and 2010s by their songs [“The ‘Tenable’ board will show 10 songs from major musicals that premiered in the noughties or the 2010s in the West End or Broadway; we are looking for the 10 corresponding shows.”]

The songs: Defying Gravity / We Are the Champions / Springtime for Hitler / When I Grow Up / A Spoonful of Sugar / Sex in the Heel / Working My Way Back to You / The Schuyler Sisters / Truly Scrumptious / Born to Boogie

Final Round: Song Lyrics: The first 10 words of five or more letters in ‘Waterloo’ by ABBA [Does not include the word ‘Waterloo’.]

How the team fared

Friday 30 April 2021, S5Ep40, Teamful of Asha

All 5 members of Teamful of Asha made it to the final round playing for 9.5k and named all of the first 10 words of five or more letters in ‘Waterloo’ by ABBA.

Questions and Answers

Friday 30 April 2021

[S5Ep40] Team name: Brimful of Asha

Round 1: 10 countries from their names in native languages [The ‘Tenable’ tower shows the short-form names of 10 countries in their native languages; the answers are the common English names; some of the clues are originally written in a different alphabet and these country names have been transferred into the Roman alphabet.]

The clues: Österreich / Kampuchea / Hrvatska / Česko / Suomi / Hellas / Magyarorszag / Bharat / Nippon / Sverige

The countries: Austria / Cambodia / Croatia / Czechia / Finland / Greece / Hungary / India / Japan / Sweden

Round 2: The 10 words in Secretary of State titles alphabetically after ‘Defence’ [In a list of UK cabinet positions with the title “Secretary of State” the words that come after “Defence”.]

Development / Digital / Education / Energy / Environment / Food / Foreign / Health / Home / Housing

Round 3: The 10 juices in the International Bartenders Association cocktails [According to a list on the International Bartenders Association website as of November 2020; these juices are all named constituents in at least one IBA cocktail and all contain the word “juice”.]

Cranberry / Grapefruit / Lemon / Lime / Mandarin / Orange / Pineapple / Pomegranate / Sugar Cane / Tomato

Round 4: The last 10 chemical elements alphabetically that begin with a vowel [As of September 2020.]

Erbium / Europium / Indium / Iodine / Iridium / Iron / Oganesson / Osmium / Oxygen / Uranium

Round 5 (The Captain’s Round): 10 musicals from the 2000s and 2010s by their songs [“The ‘Tenable’ board will show 10 songs from major musicals that premiered in the noughties or the 2010s in the West End or Broadway; we are looking for the 10 corresponding shows.”]

The songs: Defying Gravity / We Are the Champions / Springtime for Hitler / When I Grow Up / A Spoonful of Sugar / Sex in the Heel / Working My Way Back to You / The Schuyler Sisters / Truly Scrumptious / Born to Boogie

The answers: Wicked / We Will Rock You / The Producers / Matilda / Mary Poppins / Kinky Boots / Jersey Boys / Hamilton: Am American Musical / Chitty Chitty Bang Bang / Billy Elliott: The Musical

Final Round: Song Lyrics: The first 10 words of five or more letters in ‘Waterloo’ by ABBA alphabetically that begin with two consonants [Does not include the word ‘Waterloo’.]

Napoleon / Surrender / Destiny / Quite / Similar / History / Shelf / Always / Repeating / Itself

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s