Music · Trivia

Pop Master: the “3-in-10” questions, 2019

Here, as mentioned in this recent piece about Pop Master, is a round-up of the “3-in-10” questions for 2019. As you probably know, Pop Master is the mid-morning quiz on the Ken Bruce Show on BBC Radio 2, and the final challenge for the winning contestant is this: in 10 seconds name 3 Top 75 UK hits by a specific act, like Abba, Adele or The Jam.

The first section (“The Questions”) simply lists the date of broadcast and the “3-in-10” act.

The second section (“The Answers”) also lists whether the contestant answered successfully (“Them”), whether I managed it while listening (“Me”) and a sample (at least 3) of the act’s UK hits.

The Questions

Date “3-in-10” Act
Tue 01/01/2019 Barry Manilow
Wed 02/01/2019 Siouxsie and the Banshees
Thu 03/01/2019 Glen Campell
Fri 04/01/2019 Real Thing
Mon 07/01/2019 Animals
Tue 08/01/2019 Sheryl Crow
Wed 09/01/2019 Soft Cell
Thu 10/01/2019 Rose Royce
Fri 11/01/2019 John Lennon
Mon 14/01/2019 Ricky Martin
Tue 15/01/2019 Stylistics
Wed 16/01/2019 Squeeze
Thu 17/01/2019 Joan Armatrading
Fri 18/01/2019 Bon Jovi
Mon 21/01/2019 Erasure
Tue 22/01/2019 Bangles
Wed 23/01/2019 Sinead O’Connor
Thu 24/01/2019 Carpenters
Fri 25/01/2019 Police
Mon 28/01/2019 Nelly Furtado
Tue 29/01/2019 Boyz II Men
Wed 30/01/2019 Pink
Thu 31/01/2019 Alice Cooper
Fri 01/02/2019 Four Tops
Mon 04/02/2019 Little Mix
Tue 05/02/2019 REM
Wed 06/02/2019 Lemar
Thu 07/02/2019 Anastacia
Fri 08/02/2019 M People
Mon 11/02/2019 Marillion
Tue 12/02/2019 Pulp
Wed 13/02/2019 Everything but the Girl
Thu 14/02/2019 Billy Idol
Fri 15/02/2019 Skids
Mon 18/02/2019 Osmonds
Tue 19/02/2019 Robert Palmer
Wed 20/02/2019 Blondie
Thu 21/02/2019 Ultravox
Fri 22/02/2019 Everything but the Girl
Mon 25/02/2019 Script
Tue 26/02/2019 Boyzone
Wed 27/02/2019 Beyonce
Thu 28/02/2019 Who
Fri 01/03/2019 U2
Mon 04/03/2019 No Doubt
Tue 05/03/2019 Bros
Wed 06/03/2019 INXS
Thu 07/03/2019 Pet Shop Boys
Fri 08/03/2019 Razorlight
Mon 11/03/2019 Olly Murs
Tue 12/03/2019 Foreigner
Wed 13/03/2019 McFly
Thu 14/03/2019 Leann Rimes
Fri 15/03/2019 Gilbert O’Sullivan
Mon 18/03/2019 Enrique Iglesias
Tue 19/03/2019 Chris Rea
Wed 20/03/2019 Kim Wilde
Thu 21/03/2019 Spencer Davis Group
Fri 22/03/2019 Deacon Blue
Mon 25/03/2019 Christina Aguilera
Tue 26/03/2019 Kiss
Wed 27/03/2019 Bonnie Tyler
Thu 28/03/2019 Ed Sheeran
Fri 29/03/2019 Meatloaf
Mon 01/04/2019 Bananarama
Tue 02/04/2019 Leo Sayer
Wed 03/04/2019 ABC
Thu 04/04/2019 Elbow
Fri 05/04/2019 10cc
Mon 08/04/2019 Howard Jones
Tue 09/04/2019 Maroon 5
Wed 10/04/2019 Everly Brothers
Thu 11/04/2019 Suzanne Vega

 

 

The Answers

Date Artist Them Me Songs
Tue 01/01/2019 Barry Manilow No Yes Copacabana / Mandy / Could it be magic / I write the songs /
Wed 02/01/2019 Siouxsie and the Banshees Yes Yes Christine / Dear Prudence / Hong Kong Garden / Spellbound
Thu 03/01/2019 Glen Campbell No Yes Southern Nights / Rhinestone Cowboy / Galveston / Wichita Linesman / Honey Come Back
Fri 04/01/2019 Real Thing No Yes You to me are everything / Can you feel the force / Can’t get by without you
Mon 07/01/2019 Animals No Yes House of the rising sun / We gotta to get out of this place / Please don’t let me be misunderstood
Tue 08/01/2019 Sheryl Crow No No All I want to do / If it makes you happy / Sweet Child of Mine / Run Baby Run / Tomorrow Never Dies
Wed 09/01/2019 Soft Cell No Yes Tainted Love / Bedsitter / Say hello wave goodbye
Thu 10/01/2019 Rose Royce No Yes Wishing on a star / Car Wash / Love don’t live here any more / Is it love you’re after
Fri 11/01/2019 John Lennon Yes Yes Woman / Imagine / Just like Starting Over / #9 Dream
Mon 14/01/2019 Ricky Martin No Yes Un Dos Tres Maria / Nobody wants to be lonely / Living la vida loca / She Bangs / I don’t care
Tue 15/01/2019 Belinda Carlisle No Yes Circle in the sand / Heaven is a place on earth / I get weak / In too deep
Wed 16/01/2019 Squeeze No Yes Up the junction / Cool for Cats / Take me I’m yours / Tempted / Labelled with love / Goodbye Girl
Thu 17/01/2019 Joan Armatrading No No Love and Affection / Me myself I / Drop the Pilot
Fri 18/01/2019 Bon Jovi No Yes I’ll be there for you / Bad Medicine / You give love a bad name / Living on a prayer
Mon 21/01/2019 Erasure No Yes Sometimes / Blue Savannah / A little respect / Abba-Esque EP
Tue 22/01/2019 Bangles No Yes Eternal Flame / Walk like an Egyptian / Manic Monday
Wed 23/01/2019 Sinead O’Connor No No Nothing Compares 2U / Mandinka / “Don’t cry for me Argentina” [got to #53] / Success has made a failure of our home
Thu 24/01/2019 Carpenters No Yes Jambalaya / Please Mr Postman / Goodbye to love / Yesterday once more / Only yesterday / Top of the world
Fri 25/01/2019 Police Yes Yes Message in a bottle / Walking on the moon / So lonely / Every breath you take / Roxanne
Mon 28/01/2019 Nelly Furtado Don’t know Yes I’m like a bird / Turn out the light / Maneater / Broken Strings
Tue 29/01/2019 Gorillaz Yes Yes Dare / Clint Eastwood / Dirty Harry
Wed 30/01/2019 Pink No Yes Get the party started / Family Portrait / So What / Just like a pill
Thu 31/01/2019 Alice Cooper No Yes Elected / School’s Out / Poison / No more Mr Nice Guy / Hello Hurray
Fri 01/02/2019 Four Tops Yes Yes Reach out I’ll be there / Loco in Acapulco / If I were a carpenter / It’s the same old song / Bernadette / Walk away Rene
Mon 04/02/2019 Little Mix No Yes Black Magic / Cannonball / Shout out to my ex / Wings
Tue 05/02/2019 REM No Yes What’s the frequency Kenneth / Shiny Happy People / Everybody Hurts / Nightswimming /
Wed 06/02/2019 Lemar No No If there’s any justice in the world / Dance with you / Another Day / Lullaby / Time to grow / Don’t give it up
Thu 07/02/2019 Anastacia No No Left outside alone / Sick and tired / I’m out of love
Fri 08/02/2019 M People Yes No One night in heaven / Search for a hero / Itchycoo Park / Moving on up
Mon 11/02/2019 Marillion No No Kayleigh / Lavender / Sympathy / Don’t hurt yourself / Thank you whoever you are /
Tue 12/02/2019 Pulp No Yes Common people / Sorted for e’s and whizz / Help the aged / Disco 2000 / Mis-Shapes
Wed 13/02/2019 Everything but the Girl No No Missing / I don’t want to talk about / Covers EP
Thu 14/02/2019 Billy Idol No Yes Eyes without a face / White Wedding / Mony Mony / Hot in the city
Fri 15/02/2019 Skids No Yes Into the valley / Working for the Yankee dollar / Masquerade / Charade
Mon 18/02/2019 Osmonds No Yes Let me in / the Proud One / Crazy Horses
Tue 19/02/2019 Robert Palmer No Yes Looking for Clues / Johnny & Mary / Addicted to love
Wed 20/02/2019 Blondie Yes Yes Call Me / Maria / Denis / Heart of Glass / Atomic / Tide is high / Dreaming
Thu 21/02/2019 Ultravox Don’t know Yes Vienna / Slow motion / Reap the wild wind / Dancing with tears in my eyes / All stood still
Fri 22/02/2019 Everything but the Girl No No Missing / I don’t want to talk about / Covers EP [YES, this was the 3-in-10 question again, within 10 days of the previous time, and I still couldn’t remember 3 songs
Mon 25/02/2019 Script No No Hall of Fame / The Man who can’t be moved / No good in goodbye
Tue 26/02/2019 Boyzone No Yes Father and son / When the going gets tough / No Matter What / Love me for a reason
Wed 27/02/2019 Beyonce No Yes Crazy in love / If I were a boy / Telephone
Thu 28/02/2019 Who Yes Yes Pinball wizard / My Generation / I’m a boy / I can see for miles / Substitute
Fri 01/03/2019 U2 No Yes Desire / One / Discotheque / Vertigo / The Fly
Mon 04/03/2019 No Doubt No No Don’t Speak / Hey Baby / It’s my life / Hella Good / Just a girl / Spider web
Tue 05/03/2019 Bros No Yes When will I be famous / Cat among the pigeons / Silent Night / Drop the boy / I owe you nothing
Wed 06/03/2019 INXS Yes Yes Need you tonight / Suicide Blonde / Mystify
Thu 07/03/2019 Pet Shop Boys No Yes Always on my mind / Heart / It’s a sin / West End Girls / Domino Dancing / Go West
Fri 08/03/2019 Razorlight No No In the morning / America / Vice / Rip it up / Somewhere else
Mon 11/03/2019 Olly Murs No No Troublemaker / Moves / Dance with me tonight / Dear Darling / Up / Please don’t let me go
Tue 12/03/2019 Foreigner Yes Yes Cold as ice / Waiting for a girl like you / I wanna know what love is
Wed 13/03/2019 McFly No No All about you / You’ve got a friend / Don’t stop me now / 5 colours in her hair / And my research reveals: Obviously / Room on the THIRD Floor / Ultraviolet-The Ballad of Paul K / Baby’s coming back-Transylvania / Party Girl / Do Ya-Stay with me
Thu 14/03/2019 Leann Rimes No Yes Can’t fight the moonlight / How do I live / Blue / Crazy
Fri 15/03/2019 Gilbert O’Sullivan No Yes Clair / Get Down / Alone again naturally / What’s in a kiss? / The Christmas Song / Oo-wakka-do-wakka day
Mon 18/03/2019 Enrique Iglesias No No Hero / Bailamos / Addicted / Do you know / Escape
Tue 19/03/2019 Chris Rea Yes Yes Let’s Dance / Auberge / On the beach / Road to hell / Fool if you think it’s over / Driving home for Christmas
Wed 20/03/2019 Kim Wilde No Yes You keep me hanging on / Kids in America / Water on glass
Thu 21/03/2019 Spencer Davis Group No No Keep on running / Give me some loving / Somebody help me / I’m a man
Fri 22/03/2019 Deacon Blue No No Real Gone Kid / Bacharach & David EP / Fergus sings the blues / Dignity / Wages Day
Mon 25/03/2019 Christina Aguilera No Yes Beautiful / Drrty / Genie in a bottle / “Lady Marmalade” / Moves like Jagger / NOBODY WANTS TO BE LONELY / What a girl wants
Tue 26/03/2019 Kiss No No God gave rock ’n roll to you / Crazy crazy nights / I was made for loving you
Wed 27/03/2019 Bonnie Tyler No Yes Total Eclipse of the heart / Lost in France / It’s a heartache / Rocking good way / Holding out for a hero
Thu 28/03/2019 Ed Sheeran No Yes Sing / Thinking out loud / Shape of you / Castle on the hill / Lego House
Fri 29/03/2019 Meatloaf No Yes I would do anything for love / 2 out of 3 ain’t bad / Bat out of hell / It’s all coming back to me
Mon 01/04/2019 Bananarama No Yes Robert De Niro’s waiting / Cruel Summer / Venus / Shy Boy / I heard a rumour / Nathan Jones / Love in the first degree / Help
Tue 02/04/2019 Leo Sayer Yes Yes Moonlighting / One Man Band / Long Tall Glasses / When I need you / You make me feel like dancing / Thunder in my heart / Raining in my heart
Wed 03/04/2019 ABC No Yes Look of love / When Smokey Sings / Poison Arrow / All of my heart
Thu 04/04/2019 Elbow No Yes One day like this / Red / Grounds for divorce / Golden Slumbers
Fri 05/04/2019 10cc Yes Yes Donna / Rubber Bullets / I’m not in love / Wall St Shuffle / Things we do for love / Good morning judge / Dreadlock holiday / The Dean and I / Life is a minestrone / I’m Mandy fly me / Art for Art’s Sake
Mon 08/04/2019 Howard Jones No No New Song / What is love / I’d like to get to know you well
Tue 09/04/2019 Maroon 5 No Yes She will be loved / Payphone / Moves like Jagger / This Love / Sugar
Wed 10/04/2019 Everly Brothers No Yes Claudette / All I have to do is dream / Ebony Eyes / Wake up little Susie
Thu 11/04/2019 Suzanne Vega No No Tom’s Diner / Luca / Marlene on the wall

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s